The Feeling of Health: Part 1

 

The Scacchi House: The Feeling of Health - A journey of weightloss, eating clean, and bodyweight exercise

In the last 6 month, I have completely changed my life forever.  I want to share my journey with you in a 7-part series.  I hope you will feel encouraged and inspired.

It all started in December of last year.  We were in Alaska and I had some free time.  I began watching several documentaries on Netflix.  One by one, I began to notice a theme: Eat Clean.  Along with eating clean, many of them discussed our addiction to sugar.  A lot of what was hearing was nothing new.

I have spent most of my adult life dieting.  I have never been naturally thin, not even in high school.  I remember the summer between my freshman and sophomore year, getting on the scale and seeing 142.  I’m 5’3″ and 142 was a devastating number to me.  I told myself I had to get the weight off and I would never weigh that much again.  I got down to 128 pounds, my lightest ever.  I was wearing a size 6.  I was thin, but not fit.

The Scacch House: 2009

Fast forward to 2007, college helped me add that 14 pounds back on plus an additional 9.  I was 151 pounds and miserable.  I did weight watchers and got back down to 135 pounds.  I felt better carrying around less weight.  I still didn’t feel healthy.

The Scacchi House: 2010

I spent the next few years yo-yoing up and down the scale.  When I met Tony in July of 2010, I was at 135 pounds.  Falling in love wasn’t good for my waistline.  When I found out I was pregnant, I weighed in at 142 pounds.  I had always told myself that I wanted to be in the best shape of my life before I got pregnant.  My desire for a baby wasn’t going to wait for me to get my butt in gear.

The Scacchi House: 2011

I gained a whopping (brace yourself) 40 pounds while pregnant with Ava.  At my last visit with my midwife before she was born I weighed in at 182 pounds.  I knew it was all for a good reason, but I never wanted to see that number again… EVER!

The Scacchi House: 2012

After Ava was born, I lost 30 of those 40 pounds in the first two weeks.  I thought to myself, “I can tackle 10 pounds, no problem.”  Five more pounds fell off in the next few months without doing much.  I tried to diet, but I was nursing and I didn’t want to limit my calories too much.

The Scacchi House: Before Alaska

We left for Alaska in October 2012.  Ava was 10 1/2 months old.  I weighed 147 pounds.  I felt horrible.  Something had to change.

In December I watched the documentaries.  Those documentaries drove me to the library to read more.  I began reading everything I could find on eating clean, vegetarianism, veganism, sugar addiction, GMOs, and processed food.  On December 23rd, I gave up meat.  I talked about this a bit here.

I started eating better, eliminating almost all processed food.  I tried to buy as much organics as I could find and afford.  The weight began falling off.  For the first time in my life, I felt great, and I wasn’t on a diet!  I always felt miserable on a diet because there were so many thing that were off-limits.  My new-found way of eating was so liberating.  It completely changed the way I will forever look at food (and my body).  My thought changed from “what I can’t have” to “look at all that I CAN have.”

I no longer feel deprived.  I eat what I want, when I want.  The foods I crave now are not what I craved before.  Food is now fun and exciting.  I’m always trying new things, combining new flavors.  Life got a little more exciting.

The Scacchi House: June 2013

As of Monday, I now weight 127 pounds and wear a size 4!  I’m the lightest I’ve ever been.  That being said, I no longer care about the number on the scale.  I don’t think I will ever own a scale again, I have no need to.  My body is different now.  I feel healthy and my body reflects that.

Check out Part 2: Eating Clean

nopin

One thought on “The Feeling of Health: Part 1

  1. YES!

    Our bodies are smarter than most people would believe. Not to mention we are our own pharmacy. Being in tune with our body is a top priority for having and maintaining a healthy life. The path may not be easy but once you arrive, as you have, the rewards will last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

