Baked Maple Pears

I’m still posting from my phone, which I absolutely hate. Although, I am thankful that I have the ability to post from my phone. Here’s an interesting fact: If you purchased your computer after 2008 (which I’m sure you did), it did not come with that handy little factory reset disk. You now have to call the manufacturer (Dell in our case) and PAY for it. Anyway…

We are trying to eat up all of our food before we fly out next week. Last week I bought my usual 4 pears that I buy every week. They are normally soft, juicy, and oh so sweet. Not so much for these 4. They are too firm and not very sweet. Not my idea of our usual afternoon snack.

So for breakfast, I thought I would bake one of my pears in some maple syrup. OH. MY. GOODNESS. So sweet and creamy. I can’t even begin to explain how good they were. And! They are super easy to make.

20130409-104456.jpg
Baked Maple Pears

Ingredients:

    1 or 2 Pears, quartered and the core removed.

    1/4 Teaspoon Vanilla

    1 Tablespoon Butter (don’t even think about using margarine)

    1/4 Cup Maple Syrup (the real stuff, it should only have one ingredient)

20130409-104618.jpg
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (F).
In a baking dish, pour the vanilla and coat the pear quarters.
Pour the maple syrup over the pears and top each quarter with a small piece of butter.
Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.
15 minutes into the cooking time, baste the pears with the maple syrup and return to the oven.
After the 30 minutes, remove the foil and baste again. Return the pears to the oven uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.
The sauce will thicken. Remove from the oven and serve.

These pears are great on their own but would be amazing with some vanilla ice cream.

If Ava doesn’t wake up soon, I’m going to eat her piece. =)

One thought on “Baked Maple Pears

Leave a Reply

