How to Repair Cloth Diapers

I mentioned that I got 5 FREE cloth diapers when I talked about cloth diaper basics.  I got the diapers on Freecycle.  If you don’t know anything about Freecycle, it is a community where people give things away so they stay out of the landfill.  It is a really great concept and there are individual communities in most cities.  I have been Freecycling since 2007.  I have received (and given away) tons of really awesome stuff, everything from a sofa, to cross-country skis, to these 5 bumGenius cloth diapers.

The woman who offered these diapers up did say that they needed a bit of work, but for free, I was willing to accept the challenge.  Turns out that they really only needed new hook and loop (Velcro).  After many washes, the hook and loop on cloth diapers can wear out and eventually, no longer stick.

After doing some research, I found out that bumGenius sells refresher kits for $1 each.  All it said was that it would include the hook and loop and new elastic.  The elastic in my diapers was perfectly fine, so I only needed to replace the hook and loop.

bumGenius repair kit

Once my refresher kits arrived, I realized that the hook and loop was nothing special and I could have spent the same or less buying Velcro at the fabric store, but whatever.  (I had to pay shipping because I live in Alaska.  If you live in the lower 48, shipping is free, so it might be worth ordering from them.)

bumGenius diaper repair

You can see how worn the hook and loop is.  The first step is to carefully take a seam ripper and remove both wash tabs from the back of the diaper and both sides of the closure tabs.

bumGenius diaper repair

Take your time!  You do not want to rip the waterproof fabric (the pink fabric on my diapers).  I worked on this whenever I had a bit of free time.  You could probably take all the old hook and loop off one diaper in about an hour.

bumGenius cloth diaper repair

This is what your diaper will look like after you remove all of the old hook and loop.  Remember, you WILL NOT remove the Velcro that runs along the front of your diaper.  Your new hook and loop will stick to this old piece just fine.  The front piece of Velcro was coming off of one of my diapers along the bottom.  I decided it was best to hand stitch this back on.  Once I stitched it back on, it held perfectly!

bumGenius cloth diaper repair velcro

To sew your new hook and loop on, I recommend using a sewing machine.  You could hand sew it on if you do not have access to a machine, but the machine will result in less swear words. =)  For the wash tabs, just place them over the spot where the old one was.  I stitched around the outside and once across on a diagonal for extra support.

cloth diaper repair velcro

Somehow I didn’t manage to get a picture of sewing the tabs.  Basically, you want to create a sandwich with hook part on the inside and the loop part on the outside.  The elastic tab of your diaper will be the middle of your sandwich, just use the holes from the old tabs as your guide.  Sew around the outside of your sandwich.

Once you have your new tabs on, take it for a test drive.  Good as new!  These diapers cost me $1.47.  Definitely a bargain!

cloth diaper repair

Have you had to repair any cloth diapers?  Have you ever used Freecycle?

3 thoughts on “How to Repair Cloth Diapers

Leave a Reply

