Copycat Arizona Green Tea

Copycat Arizona Green TeaTony’s favorite drink is Arizona Green Tea with Ginsing and Honey.  I remember the first time I tasted it after I met him.  It wasn’t bad!  After each of his surgeries (two knees and a shoulder) over the past few years, I would bring him a few bottles of his favorite green tea and a package of Harbo Gummy Bears.  Harbo’s are one of the only candies he will eat, he’s not a fan of sweets.

I was tired of paying $3-4 for a gallon of tea.  I mean, it’s only tea, how difficult could it be to make?  So, I set out to make a gallon of my own homemade green tea with honey (and lemon, after reading the ingredients).  Here is what I came up with:

Copycat Arizona Green Tea

  • 1 gallon cold water
  • 2 teabags green tea
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 – 1 lemon, depending on size
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  1. In a pot, bring the gallon of cold water to a boil.
  2. Once boiling, remove from the heat and add the two tea bags. Let them steep for an hour.
  3. After an hour, remove the tea bags and add the sugar, honey, and lemon. Make sure not to get any seeds in it.
  4. Pour it in a gallon jug (we use a recycled Arizona Tea jug) and its done!
  5. Served chilled, over ice, or even hot.

Notes: I said 1/2 – 1 lemon because I used a jumbo lemon and half was perfect.  For a small lemon, use the entire thing.  I’m estimating my cost for one gallon to be about $1.50.  It could be less.  I used mostly organic ingredients.  Definitely worth it!

How did you like it?

Leave a Reply

