Made in the USA: Crayons and a Coloring Book

Made in the USAAs my New Year’s resolution for 2013, I am only buying new items that are made in the USA.  I will keep you up-to-date with all the great items I find.

We went to Target today to pick up a few things and just look around.  We walked through the bargain section and immediately, Ava spots an Elmo coloring book.  I don’t know what it is about Elmo.  She doesn’t watch that much TV to even really know who he is, but when she spots him, she goes crazy.  The coloring book was only $1.00 and I have no problem spending a little money to foster her creativity.  My worry was that it was made in China and I would have to tell her no.  I picked it up, and much to my surprise, it’s made in the USA!  I couldn’t believe it.  So Elmo came home with us.

We haven’t bought her any crayons yet, so we needed a pack for her to color in her new coloring book.  I was unsure about these too.  We checked out a basic 8-pack of Crayola crayons.  They are made here too!  Be careful with the crayons.  We looked at an 8-pack of the large washable crayons and they were made in Mexico.  Why they’re not all made here completely blows my mind.20130101-171852.jpg

We looked at a sled, the trashcan lid style for Tony and me.  Hey, mommy and daddy want to have some fun too.  The sled was made in Maine.  We didn’t get the sled because its been very warm here (40 degrees) and a lot of the snow has melted and what’s left is just an icy slush.  As soon as it snows again, we will be picking one of these up.

Have you found any items made in the US that have surprised you?

Leave a Reply

