A New Years Resolution for the USA

Like everyone else, I usually make a New Years resolution come January 1st.  I quit making resolutions relating to weight loss years ago, that’s a total joke.  But, for the past 2 years, I made resolutions that I was able to keep.

For 2011, my resolution was to not buy any clothing.  I had a closet overflowing with stuff that I never wore.  It was time I put those perfectly good clothes to use.  A few months into the year, I found out I was pregnant.  How would I make it through an entire pregnancy without buying anything?  I got lucky. Tony bought a storage unit that had a box full of brand new maternity clothes, IN MY SIZE!  2011 was a success!

My resolution for 2012 was to quit my job and stay home with my new baby before her first birthday (in November).  This may not sound like that big of a deal, but I was the only one working at the time.  I was determined to make it happen, no matter what.  Well guess what?  I was able to quit my job in mid-October.  We had to move to Alaska to make it happen, but I wouldn’t change a thing.  This move has defined us as a family.

So what is my New Years resolution for 2013? I will only buy items made in the USA.

I bought a pack of “thank you” notes at Fred Meyer a few weeks ago.  I wasn’t completely shocked to see that they were made in China.  But why?  How much more expensive would it really be to print paper “thank you” notes in the USA?  This got me thinking.  I know that I’m only one person and I really won’t make a huge difference, but what if more people started doing this.  What if US made products (they do still exist) started selling more and China made products started selling less?  What if?  Why not try to bring more jobs back to our neighbors, one purchase at a time.  I know that this idea is a little out there considering most Americans are obsessed with consuming.

So here are my rules:

  • Anything purchased new must be made in the USA.  Assembled in the USA does not count.  It must be made here.
  • I will allow myself to purchase items made anywhere if they are purchased second-hand or if I obtain them for free.  My reasoning behind this rule is that they have already been “consumed”.  I’m saving the item from the landfill and giving it a second life.
  • Food does not count.  I will still purchase food items grown elsewhere.  I will choose US grown items over imports, but I’m not going to tell my toddler that she can’t eat bananas for an entire year.  I would have one very unhappy little girl.

I will post my progress regularly and showcase any awesome “Made in the USA” products I find along the way.

What do you think about my New Years resolution? Are you interested in joining my challenge?

One thought on “A New Years Resolution for the USA

Leave a Reply

