Food Waste Friday 11/30

FoodWasteFriday

After years of wasting what could have fed a small Ethiopian village, we are attempting to reduce our food waste. I will post a photo each week of our food waste and I will link up with Food Waste Friday over at The Frugal Girl.

This week we managed to only throw away 4 hotdogs, if you can even call these food.  Clearly this was one of Tony’s purchases.  If I ever buy hotdogs, they are all beef.  Sad that he didn’t eat them, but at the same time… ewww.20121130-151541.jpg

On a positive note, I did manage to use up some leftover rice by making fried rice for Ava and I one night.  Fried rice is my favorite way to use up leftover rice.  It’s also a really good way to use up any leftover veggies too.

I also saved half of an onion by using it up in a batch of my potato corn chowder.  Yum!

How did you do this week?

4 thoughts on “Food Waste Friday 11/30

  1. Shopping at Publix for bread this week required picking up two loaves instead of one. There was a BOGO on bread. So if you buy just one you’re leaving food on the table so to speak but you still have to eat the bread. 2 loaves is too much here and some will go bad. I was meeting a friend for lunch so I brought the extra loaf which he happily accepted. Bottom line…no bread was wasted. I did good!

Leave a Reply

