What Alaska Is REALLY Like

We had many people try to keep us from moving to Alaska.  Most were for selfish reasons (not wanting our precious baby to be so far away).  I had countless people tell me all kinds of crazy things about Alaska.  So here are my favorites, along with how things really are up here in the last frontier.

  1. “You know it’s dark all the time up there.” – I think I got this one the most.  It is not dark all the time up here.  I got up this morning at 9:30am and it definitely wasn’t dark out.
  2. “It’s dark and dreary all the time and everyone’s depressed.” – Ava and I have been here for almost a month.  It has only been overcast TWO days.  You should have seen the sun shining yesterday!
  3. “All construction stops in the winter.” – I originally believed this one to be true, until I got here.  They continue to build throughout the winter by covering the job site with giant plastic covers.  Construction crews work under toasty warm heated plastic all winter.
  4. “Everyone in Alaska drives a 4-wheel-drive truck or SUV.” – Again, laughable.  There are just as many cars on the road up here as there are trucks and SUVs.  All you need is a good set of snow or all-season tires.
  5. “Everything in Alaska is more expensive.” – The first week I was here, I went through the grocery store to see if this was true.  The only items that really stood out were 12-packs of Coke for $8.45 and a few produce items were 50 cents more than in Florida.  Bananas were 15 cents more per pound.  Alaska actually has quite a bit of agriculture.  There is a whole “Alaska Grown” movement up here.  Restaurants are also the same price.  Housing is comparable to a larger city like Tampa or Orlando.

I did learn something new!  I learned of the concept of an “Eskimo Fridge.”  Basically, you put your food in Tupperware or whatever like you normally would… then you put it out on your porch.  That’s it.  It’s perfect if you are just going to reheat leftovers the next day.

If you have any questions about our family, or just living in Alaska, please email us at scacchihouse@yahoo.com or you can post on our Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

