DIY High Chair Splat Mat

I found a project even easier than the diaper pail liner.  Ava’s new favorite thing to do it toss her food over the edge of her high chair when she is finished/bored/mad or really anytime she feels like it.  If you could only see the mess on the carpet.

I knew I had to make something make cleanup a little bit easier.  Off to the fabric store we went.  I knew that oilcloth would be a good option because:

  1. It would be easy to wipe clean
  2. The edges don’t fray, so this could be a “no-sew” project!

I went to Joann and found the oilcloth.  The Joann closest to the house is very small, so their selection is limited.  There is a larger, “full-size” Joann here in Anchorage, but it’s all the way across town.  Another day.  It turned out that my choices were: brown owl print, old granny floral, or this cute circle pattern on a brown background.  It was $17.99/yard… ouch!  I knew I didn’t need a whole yard, and I had a coupon.  My oilcloth is 54″ wide (on the big rolls next to the home decor fabrics) and I had her cut me 2/3 of a yard.  This was the perfect amount and would actually leave me a little extra that I would trim from the edge.  2/3 of a yard @ $17.99 = $12.00 – 50% coupon = $6.00.  That’s much more my style.

20121106-182743.jpg

At home, I placed the fabric on the floor where her high chair normally sits to get a feel for the size.  Just as I thought, it was too long. Easily fixed!

20121106-182807.jpg

I took my scissors (my new “fabric only” scissors) and made a little notch in the oilcloth where I wanted to make the cut.  I then pulled the fabric into a more workable area of the room.

20121106-182855.jpg

 I turned the fabric upside down to make the cut.  I didn’t have a straight edge, so I folded over the clean edge from the manufacturer that I was going to be cutting off and used it as a guide.

20121106-182913.jpg

Once cut, I then placed it back under the table where its new home would be.  Perfect fit!

20121106-182931.jpg

That’s it, you’re finished! It took me about 10 minutes to complete the project and it only cost $6.00 for the fabric.  It’s probably more like $5.00 if you discount the scrap.

20121106-182951.jpg

I actually have a decent size scrap left over.  I will definitely be saving this for another project.

20121106-183007.jpg

Don’t you love no-sew projects! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

