DIY Cloth Diaper Pail Liner

We have used cloth diapers on Ava since she was about 3 months old. I love it and avoid using disposable diapers as much as possible. We did use a pack of disposable diapers while we traveled from Florida to Alaska for convenience. We have been here for 2 weeks and she has been back in cloth for the past week.

As much as Tony says he hates cloth diapers, I caught him telling a guy at the bank all about them when he asked if we used cloth. Who can argue with the savings?

In Florida, we never had a diaper pail. We used our washing machine as our diaper pail. Here in Alaska, that’s not really a possibility.  So, I decided that we needed a diaper pail.

I went to Lowe’s to find a trashcan with a lid since I had a gift card. Of course, the only one they didn’t have was the size I wanted. So I drove across town to the other Lowe’s. Woo hoo! They had the one I was looking for. It’s a 7.5 gallon trashcan with a pop open lid from Hefty. It was $9.97 (no sales tax in Alaska, yay!), which is a little more than I wanted to spend, but whatever. I will get over it.

Next I needed a liner for it. I looked on Amazon since I had recently ordered a new wet bag for the diaper bag. I have always used a grocery bag for a wet bag, but I decided it was time for the real deal. I ordered the Thirsties Deluxe Diaper Duffle from Amazon and paid for it with my Mechanical Turk earnings. And to sweeten the deal, I’m still in my trial period of Amazon Prime. Yay for free shipping! Tony picked it up from the Post Office today on his way to work.

So I looked for a pail liner on Amazon and wasn’t in love with the $15-$30 price tag. How hard could it really be to make my own? Not hard at all!

I found this tutorial over at The Cloth Diaper Whisperer. Seemed simple enough. Some of her instructions were a little unclear to me, so I just figured it out as I went along.

I bought 23″ of white PUL at Joann Fabrics at $12.99/yard. It came to $4.15 after my 50% off coupon. My PUL was 64″ wide and looking back, I could have made 2 liners for the size trashcan I bought. Lessons learned, right?  I also bought 26″ of 1″ wide elastic at $2.39/yard. I had a second 50% off coupon, so it was only $1.73 for the elastic. I already had thread, so no need to buy more.  The entire liner cost only $5.88!

Now, you are probably wondering if I packed my sewing machine in my suitcase. As much as I wanted to, the answer is no. Oma (our adopted Grandmother here in Alaska) has a very nice sewing machine that Opa bought her for Christmas last year. The funny thing is, Oma doesn’t know how to sew. So, she let me borrow her machine as long as I would show her how to use it, which I was more than happy to do. Please keep in mind, I am no master seamstress.

The actual sewing of the bag didn’t take that long. I finished it in about an hour, which included stopping to fix my stitching every time Ava decided she would press the pedal for me, which was often. I made one straight stitch along the side, about 1/2″ in from the edge. Then, I did a zigzag stitch right next to it on the outside. This will make the stitch stronger. I then cut off the excess fabric on the edge and it looks like this.  Ignore my crooked cut.

I sewed my seams with the shiny waterproof side facing out. If I were to do it again, I would sew it the other way. You will see why when it’s finished. I then did the same thing on the other side.

I sewed the elastic around the top about 1″ from the top. This was no scientific measurement, I just guessed. This was my first time sewing with elastic. Oma was worried that I didn’t buy enough. The key to sewing elastic is to pull it as you sew. This is what it looks like after the elastic is sewn in. At this point you are finished!

The shiny waterproof side of the fabric goes on the inside of the bag. See the seam showing now, this is why I would do it the opposite was next time. It really doesn’t matter. It’s just a bag for soiled diapers. My bag is larger than my trashcan, which is why I could have made two. It will fit a standard 13 gallon kitchen trashcan. When I put the liner on, I folded the elastic edge under to give it a finished look.

This bag was a very simple project and much less expensive than buying one. Have you ever attempted a new sewing project that was easier than expected?DIY Diaper Pail Liner 3

One thought on “DIY Cloth Diaper Pail Liner

  1. Pingback: The Scacchi House

Leave a Reply

