Q&A – How Long is it Daylight in Alaska in October

I had a question come in the other day asking how many hours of daylight we have right now in Anchorage. The answer might surprise you.

I think many people assume that as soon as it gets cold here that our “winter” begins and it instantly stays dark for most of the day. Currently, the sun rises around 9am and sets at 6:15pm. Not what you imagined, huh?

Okay, so our bright sunny days are slightly shorter than they were in Florida, but I haven’t noticed much. I’ve still been getting up sometime between 7 and 8am. Ava still goes to bed around 8:30pm. I’ve been staying up a little later now that I don’t have to get up for work at 5am.

Yes, the days will get shorter as we get deeper into winter. But, before we know it, summer will be here and we will have daylight most of the time.

I’m looking forward to the 24-hour daylight. Do you know what kind of garden I can grow with 24 hours of sunlight? Think: giant vegetables!

If you have any questions you would like to ask us, you can email us at scacchihouse@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

