Going Away

I have some of the most wonderful family.  My mom hosted a little get together last Saturday night before Ava and I flew out on Wednesday.  She used the opportunity to have a pre-birthday party for Ava, since everyone will miss her 1st birthday.  My mom made Ava this cute little bear cake for her smash and eat.20121013-174655.jpg

My mom made one of my favorite meals.  Pot roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, salad, and potato rolls!  It was delicious.  It was a great opportunity for us to see some of the family all together before we left.  My cousin Brett and his girlfriend Ali came.

20121013-210024.jpg

Pot roast is one of my favorite meals.  Yummy, fall apart goodness!  And of course, Mom makes it the best!  I was joking around with my sister Susie and told her that I will make this same meal in Alaska, but only with reindeer or moose (the large mammal, not our cat).  I was only half-joking, it’s totally going to happen.

20121013-210059.jpg

Ava’s “Aunt Janet The Great” and Uncle Brian also came.  Aunt Janet wanted to send me away to Alaska properly, so she brought all the supplies to make homemade pina coladas.  All I can say is YUM!  She predicted that I will probably have a hard time finding a good pina colada in Alaska.  I would have to agree.  My grandma also baked some of her amazing pumpkin pies for dessert.

20121013-210120.jpg

And as if the pina coladas were not amazing already, Aunt Janet added flaming bananas!

20121013-210139.jpg

Ava decided that my glasses do not belong on my face, they belong in my mashed potatoes.  Nice!

20121013-210214.jpg

Not only did my mom bake Ava a cake, she baked a total of four cakes.  This was Ava’s candle cake.  We all sang Happy Birthday while she looked at us like we were crazy.

20121013-210324.jpg

Ava is no stranger to cake, so she dug right in.  She knew exactly what to do.

20121013-210347.jpg

I love this face!

20121013-210357.jpg

20121013-210414.jpg

Don’t forget to wash it all down with some water.

20121013-210420.jpg

It was a great night.  I so appreciate my family’s support.  We are going to miss everyone terribly, but we will be back to visit very soon.

One thought on “Going Away

Leave a Reply

