South Florida Long Weekend

Last weekend I went down to visit my Aunt Sue in Boca Raton with my Mom, Grandma, and Ava. We left Friday afternoon and got down there just in time for a yummy Chinese dinner. Saturday morning, my mom, aunt, and I ran in the March for Hunger 5k in Hollywood. It was a really nice race right on the boardwalk next to the beach.

Aunt Sue, Mom, and Me!

I am very proud of myself for running the entire thing, even though I was sick. This was the first time I was able to run 3 miles straight since Ava was born. I finished in 40:00 (clock time). Not my best time, but I can only improve. After the race, we hit up a restaurant for crepes and then on to a very fancy Goodwill (oxymoron, I know). This Goodwill was nothing like the others I have been to. I found a small round banana leaf basket for $1 and this size 2T Gymboree jumper for $2.

Now I’m on a mission to find all the matching accessories! Even though it was a goodwill, I felt that a lot of the stuff was overpriced.  That evening we all painted our nails with shellac. I had never used shellac before, so we will see how it holds up.

Update: The shellac only lasted a week.  I’m going to try it again and see how it does.

On Sunday we went to Babies R Us and picked up lots of goodies for Ava. That night, we went on a dinner cruise in Fort Lauderdale. Even though it was a little chilly, it was very nice. It was Ava’s first boat ride! We left to come home on Monday morning. We learned on the way down that Ava needs a break from the car. She isn’t going to stay asleep or relaxed for almost 4 hours. Good to know. We had a great time!

Leave a Reply

