Keep On Running

Just two short months after giving birth to our daughter Ava, I ran a 5-mile race in Clearwater, Florida with my mom and my best friend Brittany. I had decided to run the race while I was pregnant. Needless to say, after running a 5k in Ybor City at 5 weeks pregnant, I knew I wouldn’t be doing much training while pregnant. I think I went running twice after that before she was born.

Brittany, Judy, and Amanda (and Ava under the cover) before the race!

So once our baby girl was born, I knew I wanted to start running again fairly quickly. I started running again at about 4 weeks postpartum. Saturday night before the race, we spent the night in Clearwater. On January 23, 2012 at 7:05am, I started my first 5-mile race and my first post-baby run. It was invigorating! The scenery was beautiful. The race started at Coachman Park and we ran over the Clearwater bridge (ridiculous!) down to the pier and back.
By the time I passes the 3 mile sign, all I was thinking was that if it were a 5k, I would be finished. I’m not going to lie, I thought I was going to die!

But I kept going and eventually I crossed the finish line at 1:07:49. You can see the official race times here. I was shooting for an hour, but I was just a few minutes over. Tony and Ava were waiting for me at the finish line, along with Brittany and her boyfriend, Justin. My mom finished shortly after. It was tough, but I’m so glad I did it. Tony and I strive to be good role models for Ava.

Tony and I have a whole slew of races we are planning on running in the next several months. Check out our schedule below. Are you a runner? What races are coming up that you are running in?

Leave a Reply

