Eggplant Parmesan

We thought we would fill you in on some of our favorite recipes. We will try to post a new one every week.  Saturday night I made Amanda eggplant parmesan for the first time! We went to the farmers market that morning and we were able to pick up some fresh eggplant, homemade tomato basil bread, goat cheese feta, and fresh Russian garlic. Amanda had never had eggplant parmesan, so I knew I had to make it for her.

Tony’s Eggplant Parmesan

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggplants
  • all-purpose flour
  • italian breadcrumbs
  • 4-5 eggs
  • 2 jars pasta sauce (or homemade)
  • 1 – 8oz bag shredded italian cheese blend
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

I started off by slicing the eggplant in about 1/2 inch slices. Then I had three bowls set up where I had flour, salt, and pepper in the first bowl,  beaten eggs in the second, and italian bread crumbs in the third. I dredged the eggplant slices in the flour, then egg, then in the breadcrumbs and then fried them in the olive oil over medium-high heat. 

I use olive oil as it seems to be a little healthier than vegetable oil. I fried them on both sides as the oven was heating to 400 degrees. I got a 9×13 baking dish and layered the bottom with a small amount of pasta sauce. You can use whatever kind you like or homemade.  I will post my homemade pasta sauce recipe soon, but for this I used Gia Russa jarred sauce because it happened to be BOGO at Publix this week.

After the small amount of sauce, I put the eggplant down followed by a nice thick layer of sauce and the cheese. I used a 2% Italian blend, but you can use any kind you would like. The italian blends seem to taste better and we use the low-fat 2% because we are trying to eat healthier. I repeated those steps for 2-3 layers almost making a “lasagna” type dish.

Then you bake if for approximately 30 minutes or until the cheese gets a little golden brown.  Take it out of the oven and it’s ready to serve!

Needless to say, Amanda was IN LOVE with it! I also made a spread for the tomato basil bread with the goat cheese feta and roasted garlic that turned out phenomenal as well! What have you been cooking lately?

Leave a comment