Yes, We Only Have One Car

The Scacchi family is a one car family. You might be wondering why a family with a small child would want to only have one car. We did not become a one car family intentionally; it just sort of happened. It works for us.

I actually thought we would need to buy a second car right away when we got rid of Tony’s truck, but just having our Kia Forte has worked out great. I think it helps that I have a slightly flexible work schedule and that Tony is home most of the time during the day.

I think there is another major misconception about being a one car family. You don’t necessarily have to live in the city to get away with only one car. Tony and I live in a fairly rural town about an hour north of Orlando. Nothing is within walking distance, except a gas station and maybe the library. The closest grocery store is 3 miles away and most major shopping is 7-10 miles. I am lucky that my office is only about 8 miles away, but in the opposite direction of everything else.

I remember my mother telling me that when she and my dad first got married, they only had one car.  Why is it that having two, and sometimes three vehicles is now the norm?  I guess that some people might see it as a bit inconvenient to have only one car.  I don’t see it that way.  We just have to be a little bit more strategic than most with our planning.  I also feel like I get to spend more time with my family this way.  Every morning, if Tony needs the car during the day, he has to drive me to work.  This is an extra 10-15 minutes that I get to spend with him and Ava.

We also save a TON of money only having one car.  We only have one car payment (which I really want to pay off as-soon-as-possible!), one gas bill, one car to insure, and one car to do maintenance on.  For some families that could be like $500+ a month!  You might think that we spend more on gas for our one car than most people, but I really don’t think we do.  On average, we are only spending around $200 per month on gas, some months a little more and some a little less.  I think we will eventually get a second car, but at this point, it doesn’t seem that necessary.

Have you ever experienced being a one car family?  How did that work out?  What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about it?

Leave a Reply

